“Zen and the Art of the Peeping Tom”

I gained inspiration to write the following piece when I was at a party with some friends. I was sitting and engaged, but also watching, observing, and writing. Thus the concept of outside / inside, social butterfly / wallflower. It all struck me as a very Zen musing. Enjoy!

Zen and the Art of the Peeping Tom

I was looking
through the
window but
wasn’t quite
outside.

Almost like being
encased in a wall.

Could I observe
what was going on
while being there
in the moment?

Could I hear
the cars outside and
the conversations
inside?

Would anyone notice this
strange stasis of mine?
Or would they first hear
The sound of one hand clapping?

I think it ended up as
my choice,
to move in or
move out.

To join them or
stay a flower in the
artfully selected
wallpaper,
watching yet not
living.

I chose the former.

© Jamy Sweet 2013-08-22

A story from Ordinary Mind about “The Sound of One Hand Clapping” for those of you that aren’t familiar with it…

:^>

Jamy

2 thoughts on ““Zen and the Art of the Peeping Tom”

If Rhythm Is a Dancer, comment and dance with me!

